One Year of Blogging: Recap and Future Plans

On September 12th I celebrated the fact that I’ve been blogging for a year. As someone that tends to be super defeatist and has quit more projects than I can name without embarrassing myself, this is a huge milestone in my life. When I started this blog a year ago, I did it because I wanted to provide women with my body type a resource to see how lingerie fits and looks on a woman of my size and shape. I have a very tiny (let’s be honest, minuscule) budget, and I’m certainly not a model. I think it’s extremely important for people to see how lingerie looks in a basic everyday setting. The average woman doesn’t have access to a studio or professional equipment.

When I started my blog, I was extremely unprepared. My good camera broke and I was left with a crappy point and shoot, or my boyfriend’s cell phone. I had never written anything that would be read by more than a hundred people. I was horrible at posing (I still am!) and my lingerie collection was extremely modest. By the time December came around, I ended up losing my job due to chronic pain and health issues. I chugged along, reviewing everything I could get a hold of. I did fitting room posts that cost me nothing, I wrote body positive posts, and I relied heavily on PR samples to review any products on this blog. I’ve never had a ton of views, but over time some big name bloggers took notice of me and started interacting with me on social media. I’ll be honest, I’m still not getting a ton of views. I’m still a very small and modest blog, and I’m lucky to have reviewed any PR samples at all.

Over the past year I’ve reviewed samples from some amazing brands like Bravissimo, Ewa Michalak, THINX, Elomi, and more. I’ve always been proud of the fact that my reviews are comprehensive and honest. I don’t believe free products are enough to sell your credibility away. Of course I’ve encountered some negativity along the way, but it all disappears once I get emails, messages, and comments from women who tell me I inspired them to get fitted, or sold them on a bra that turned out to be their new holy grail. It’s so cliche, but it’s extremely rewarding to get these comments and messages. It’s much more rewarding than getting thousands of views per post.

The biggest lesson I’ve learned from my blog is that if there’s something you want to do, grab it and make it work. You can have a decent small following despite being a “basement blogger.” There are so many ways to get a hold of products or topics to write about. I’ll be the first one to say it can be disheartening to pour your heart into a post and only scrape together 100 views in a week. The thing is, I’m not in it for the views. I’m not in it for the money. In the year I’ve been blogging, I’ve never done a sponsored post and I’ve never been paid for a review. I have never profited from this blog. Yes, I’d love to be a full time blogger and get paid for reviews and sponsorships. Who wouldn’t want that? Sadly, I just don’t have the time and energy to put 100% of my time into my blog. I can’t risk being jobless again if I’m not certain I wouldn’t make more money from blogging.

A few weeks ago I announced I’d be taking a break from blogging, but instead I’ve decided to make some changes to my blog. I don’t want my voice to be completely drowned out, and I know if I stop blogging it’ll be very hard to pick it back up again. I want to keep doing this for another year at least, and then from there I’ll decide what I want to do with this blog.

For the time being, I will open up my blog to other product reviews. Things like makeup, hair products, and anything else I’m passionate about. I was going to start a separate blog to feature all the other hobbies in my life, but it would be much easier for me to just use my current blog to write about other topics. I’ll still write about body positivity, feminism, lingerie, and plus size clothing. Writing about more topics will allow me to write more reviews and keep uploading content more regularly. I’d get burnt out so quickly if I had to manage two sets of blogs and social media profiles, along with working full time. It would also help me financially because reviewing new lingerie all the time gets extremely expensive. I’m trying to save up for an apartment with my boyfriend, and I hope to be moved out within a year.

I’m extremely excited to start reviewing other products. I hope you can all enjoy them too. I want to connect more with my readers and invite new ones in. If there’s something specific you want me to write about, let me know! I’m open to suggestions.

I want to take this time to thank everyone that’s ever supported me on this journey. The past year of my life has been a time of so much personal growth. A year ago, I hated myself and had no one in my life. Now I have so much confidence in myself and my abilities, and I belong to an extremely caring community of other bloggers and people on social media. The plus size, lingerie, and blogging communities have given me the biggest and warmest welcome. I love knowing I can connect with so many people in other countries over common interests. The bloggers I interact with are some of the best people I’ve ever met, and I would have never met them if it wasn’t for taking a huge risk and starting Rolls and Curves. This blog has been more therapeutic and healing than any medication or therapy could ever be. I’m finally proud of the person I’ve become thanks to everyone who’s supported me in any way. You know who you are.

Leave a Reply

