Nonie Creme Colour Prevails Foundation Review (Porcelain and Buff)

This is the first beauty review I’ve ever done, so forgive me if I don’t explain things well. I’m reviewing my holy grail daily foundation, which is the Nonie Creme Colour Prevails Blank Canvas Foundation. This product is on the pricy side for a drug store foundation, ($15 for an ounce) but I believe the quality is similar to higher end foundations such as Urban Decay Naked Skin. This foundation is available in eight shades ranging from fair to deep, and can only be found at Walgreens. All photos used in this post were only edited for color accuracy. There is no retouching in these photos.

203_0011edit.jpg

Left: Buff                                     Right: Porcelain

Full disclosure, I worked at Walgreens when I discovered this foundation. I did use my employee discount on it, which brought it down to roughly $12. The reason I chose it was because I was looking for a new foundation, and I noticed this one had testers. I was able to swatch it on my wrist, go about my day, and check to see how the finish and shade looked after a few hours. I was not asked to review this, and at the time of writing I haven’t been employed by Walgreens for 10 months.

203_0012edit.jpg
Because it comes from a relatively unknown brand and is only sold at one store, this foundation doesn’t get a lot of attention from beauty bloggers. It’s extremely difficult to find any reviews of it to begin with. As I mentioned above, this foundation is very similar to UD Naked Skin when it comes to texture and performance. It’s less than half the price for the same amount of product, so it could be a great option for someone who loves UD Naked but struggles with the price.

203_0015edit.jpg

Left: Buff                  Right: Porcelain

Unlike most drugstore foundations, this one comes with a pump. The pump screws off the whole way, which means it would be very easy to add a foundation mixer to permanently change the color to save time in the mornings. The glass packaging doesn’t feel cheap at all, although the lid could be improved. The plastic lid always ends up covered in foundation over time, unless you wipe the pump off each time you use it. The pump never clogs with product, and one full pump is the perfect amount to cover my entire face. I rarely waste product.

203_0017edit.jpg

Left: Porcelain                     Right: Buff

I own two shades of this foundation. I have shade 01 Porcelain, and shade 03 Buff. I’ve already repurchased Porcelain once. I didn’t choose the second shade, Nude Blush, because it was more pink toned, and I need a more neutral/yellow leaning foundation to cancel out the redness on my face. Shade Porcelain is a practically perfect match on my fair skin. Buff is a little darker, and can tend to look too dark on my skin unless I get an accidental tan. I’m only using the shade Porcelain on my face in my photos. Although the last two shades are much deeper than ones produced by some other brands, I wish they would include more shades for medium-deep skintones. It jumps from super fair to deep really quickly.

203_0018edit

Left: Porcelain                 Right: Buff

In my photos, I’ve applied this foundation by dotting one pump all over my face with my fingers, and then blending it in with my Real Techniques Stippling Brush. This foundation promises a lightweight feeling, natural finish, and offers light-medium coverage. I’d wholeheartedly agree with those claims. This foundation covers most of my imperfections without completely covering my skin texture. This is a good thing most of the time, but right now I’m struggling with hormonal breakouts and eczema that are causing my skin to be more textured than normal under any foundation. I will say that this is one of few foundations I own that doesn’t cake up on my nose or around my upper lip, and it covers my eczema patches and acne without irritating the skin.

IMG_0996.JPG

Eczema, pimples, freckles, peach fuzz, dry skin

203_0002edit.jpg

Bare faced

The first photo with foundation is one thin layer over my whole face, and the second photo is two layers of the foundation set with Coty Airspun Loose Powder. I definitely have more of a medium coverage, but you can easily notice my eczema patches and my peach fuzz is highlighted by the powder. My favorite way to build this foundation is by blending in the first layer with my fingers only, and then using a stippling brush to add more coverage just where I need it. I can easily build up to a high-medium coverage if I use a light hand. I wouldn’t recommend using a sponge because it’ll suck up a lot of product because it’s such a thin and lightweight formula. That said, you can use a damp sponge over it once applied to give a flawless finish.

203_0035edit
The longevity of this foundation is better than most drugstore foundations, but not quite as good as UD Naked on it’s own. Obviously, a primer and setting spray would help it last longer. I can get 9 full hours of wear out of it without touch ups before it starts to break up in my T-zone. I can get maybe 11-12 hours out of it when it’s not summertime. At the end of the night, the perimeter of my face will look just like it did when I applied it. Because of this, I’d say this foundation would be perfect for those with dry skin. People with oily skin might need to use a primer and setting spray and might need to touch up with powder or blotting paper throughout the day.

203_0043edit
Ever since I discovered this foundation, I’ve been using it on most days. It’s extremely easy to blend and can easily be built up to a full coverage base with concealer under my eyes, nose, and on breakouts or rashes. Blushes, bronzers, and highlighters apply beautifully over this foundation, and my cheek products tend to last longer when applied over this foundation set lightly with powder. I have not repurchased UD Naked once since trying this one.

203_0053edittwolayers
The only real downside of this product is that it does tend to go fast if you build it up and use it every day, so if you require a high-medium coverage another formula might be better for you so you don’t use up a ton of product. Another downside is that the ingredients are only printed on the plastic wrapper, and they aren’t posted online. It’s very hard to read so people with allergies to ingredients should test it in store with caution. Obviously everyone is different, but I have sensitivities to a ton of products and this has never caused me to break out.

Overall Thoughts: Despite being an unknown drugstore brand, this foundation easily competes with products like Urban Decay Naked Skin and can be considered a half price dupe. The formula is lightweight and gives a natural finish. It can be built up to high-medium coverage. It’s best for dry skin, although it lasts for a decent amount of time on oily areas. This might not be the best foundation for super textured skin. .

My personal ranking is as follows:

Shade: 9 out of 10
Finish: 7 out of 10
Longevity: 7 out of 10
Value: 6 out of 10
Ease of Use: 8 out of 10
Overall: 7.4 out of 10

Leave a Reply

