THINX Boyshort Review (XXXL)

Today I’m reviewing the THINX boyshorts in an XXXL. I received these for free in exchange for my honest and comprehensive review. My opinions are not affected by the fact that I received these for free. I did a little write up before this that discusses the difficult and rocky relationship I’ve had with my period. Click here to read that post.

boyshort_black_front_1024x1024.png

The THINX Boyshorts are available in sizes XXS-XXXL, or sizes 00-24. I chose the Boyshort style, which is meant for light days or one tampon’s worth of blood/fluid. All  THINX products are made of multiple layers of absorbent but breathable materials. I know it sounds like a contradiction to be breathable and absorbent, but somehow they manage to do it well. My first impression is that these feel much heavier than normal underwear. The inside feels soft and cottony, and the outside feels like nylon panties. None of the materials are uncomfortable, and it doesn’t feel like bathing suit material which is what I’d originally feared. The crotch area is no thicker than a thin pad, and it feels a little rougher than the rest of the inside but not to the point where it’s uncomfortable.

2016-09-09 (2).png

34f97216a1ca498ae2bd5fcf4455a43f_large

The first thing I’m going to talk about is the fit. I chose the XXXL for comfort in case of bloating or the material shrinking in the dryer, but in this style I could have gone with the XXL because I have to pull them up frequently. My natural waist is 38 inches and my hips are 50 inches at the moment, so I’d definitely say to size down in this style if you don’t have a ton of junk in your trunk. Speaking of junk in the trunk, I love the way these look on my butt. They show a little bit of cheek and make my butt look amazing. There is no fear of looking like you’re wearing a diaper. That said, I could see these fitting weirdly if you have a large butt and full hips.

img_0872

Since I prefer my underwear to be higher rise, I find that I wear them higher than you’re “supposed” to. On me, they sit right below my bellybutton. The legs aren’t as long as I’d have liked, but they don’t dig in or cause me any discomfort. I don’t think they look as good with the legs pulled down, and I think another style might be more traditionally flattering for someone with my body type. The crotch is the perfect width for me, which is surprising because I’m a bit wider down below and find that some types of underwear aren’t suited for that. I don’t get any camel toe or digging in at the inner thigh. These look completely normal under pants and they’re about as comfortable as normal underwear. As someone who’s actually resorted to adult underwear during an ovarian cyst rupture, these are much more comfortable and discreet and I wish I had them or another THINX style back then.

img_0881
I’ve never tried any other type of period underwear, so I unfortunately can’t compare them to anything. My flow is extremely unpredictable. In the span of one day I can go through 4 different tampon absorbencies (light, regular, super, and super plus.) I’ve used these alone and with tampons of varying absorbencies, but I find myself going without a tampon altogether the longer I wear these. Even through days where I went without a tampon and ended up having a super plus flow midday, I always felt dry and clean. Due to some issues, I’ve been having my period every 2-3 weeks instead of monthly so I’ve tested these out through multiple cycles. I also wear them on super hot days or days where I feel like I have a lot of discharge.

img_0886
I think these can hold more than a tampon’s worth of blood if you blot them frequently. I have to change tampons every 2ish hours, but these can last me all day at work and all night while I sleep. I have so much confidence in these boyshorts that I actually bought sheets that weren’t a dark color because I know I won’t bleed through these. One thing I was concerned about was the possibility of UTIS or yeast infections like I’ve experienced with pads and liners, but this has not happened to me so I’ve ditched pads in favor of these.

IMG_0896.JPG
I know a lot of people worry about whether or not it’s gross to wash these, but I don’t think it is at all. You don’t even really notice anything. I just rinse them or soak them in the sink with a mild soap and then throw them in the washer with everything else. I don’t use bleach or fabric softener to begin with so it’s not a problem for me. It’s a lot more discreet to rinse and wash underwear than it is to have a trash can full of pads or tampons. The downside in my case was that I only had the one pair, so I had to wash them every night. Despite frequent washes, they’re still absorbent and kept their shape and quality. The only sign of wear is the fact that the printed label on the inside wore off. If you have multiple sizes of the same color and style, you’ll have to keep them separate to tell them apart. I’d rather have this than have a physical tag because I find tags on underwear extremely uncomfortable.

img_8888
I’ve never reviewed period panties before, so I’ll establish a new ranking criteria for them.

Fit: 7 out of 10
Function: 9 out of 10
Durability: 8 out of 10
Appearance: 9 out of 10
Comfort: 10 out of 10
Overall: 8.6 out of 10

I do have a referral link for THINX period panties. If you use my code, you’ll get $10 off and I’ll get $10.

All in all, I’d recommend trying these out to see if you like them. If you don’t like them for periods they’re still great underwear in general. I could see them being great for working out if you’re like me and sweat like crazy. I’m happy that companies like THINX are making period panties to provide people with periods another option for collecting their menstrual blood. I look forward to trying out more styles from THINX and other brands, and I want to thank THINX one more time for giving me the chance to try something from them.

6 thoughts on “THINX Boyshort Review (XXXL)

  1. windylou September 10, 2016 at 10:56 pm Reply

    I have heard many great things about THINX! A discount code would be great, but when I try the link it goes to mod cloth

    Like

    • RollsAndCurves September 10, 2016 at 11:10 pm Reply

      That’s so weird! I copied the link directly from their website. I’ll fix it and update the post once I figure out what’s going on.

      Like

    • RollsAndCurves September 10, 2016 at 11:44 pm Reply

      Try it now! I just fixed it.

      Like

  2. Mickey Richards March 13, 2017 at 3:11 pm Reply

    Thanks for this review! They look great on you! (I like seeing a person closer to my size than the models, you know?)

    I would be an XL in the hips by their size chart or an XXXL by the waist. In this style, do you think I should fit for the hips? I do not want a “waist” line on my underwear or a muffin top from my undies. Thanks for any advice.

    Like

    • RollsAndCurves March 13, 2017 at 3:51 pm Reply

      Thank you!

      I would personally get the larger size for comfort so they won’t dig in. What about a 2X so it’ll be a compromise between the two sizes?

      Like

      • Mickey Richards March 13, 2017 at 4:48 pm

        You read my mind. Thank you for the quick reply.

        Like

Leave a Reply

