Wellfitting Liftsational Classic Plunge Review (38N)

Today I’m reviewing the Wellfitting Liftsational Plunge in a 38N, which converts to a UK 38JJ. I received this bra for free in exchange for my honest and comprehensive review. All opinions are my own and are not impacted by the fact that I received this bra for free.

PicMonkey Collage

Wellfitting was created in 2013 by two sisters who were frustrated with the lingerie industry for not creating quality options in a variety of sizes. Wellfitting’s bras are made by Polish brand Comexim, and follow the same or similar patterns as Comexim’s models. No matter what I say in this review, I want it to be clear that I admire their dedication to providing women with properly fitting bras, especially considering the fact that the size range they provide is amazing for such a young brand. Very few brands make 26 bands, and 50 bands are just as rare. I love how they focus on how the right bra can improve your self esteem and health. I love that they’re offering longlines in hard to find sizes. I love that they’re aware of the bad things that are going on behind the scenes in the lingerie industry for the sake of consumer convenience. I love that they acknowledge how lingerie ads are extremely oversexualized. I read their “Our Story” section of their website and kept nodding in agreement.

203_0281.jpg

I noticed on their website that they have a Free Bra program in which bloggers and social media influencers can review a bra for free in exchange for a review, and I jumped at the chance. I’ll be honest. The biggest reason I wanted to try Wellfitting was because I love the look of longline bras and desperately wanted to try one in a realistic size for me. Instead, they offered the Liftsational Classic Plunge in a new colorway. I hesitated, but some feedback online suggested that the longlines run super shallow and I might not get the best fit. I decided to accept it and I received a confirmation email on June 16th. It was shipped on July 15th, and I received the bra on July 25th.

203_0288.jpg

I admit I’m a super impatient person, and after some mishaps with my mail carrier losing packages, I got a little antsy because I didn’t hear anything about whether or not it shipped for almost a month. The great thing about Wellfitting is that their bras are made when you order it so that they’re able to offer rare sizes. Most brands don’t offer a range this large because it’s extremely expensive to keep a large stock of sizes that may or may not sell. The only downside to this is that it is a relatively long wait, so if you need a specific bra for an event you’ll have to plan ahead and order it at least 6 weeks before the event.

203_0296.jpg

Now onto the review. The Liftsational Classic Plunge is made from a 3 part lightly padded cup with a 4 inch gore, relatively thin straps, and a super firm band. The Jade fabric is slightly shiny. The wires are narrower than some UK brands, but not as narrow as my Ewa Michalak FB cut bras. The bow is adorable and oversized, which is a nice detail. The black straps and bow contrast with the green color beautifully, and I was surprised to see that the band is actually made of that green fabric as opposed to some brands that keep the band plain black. This bra manages to be simple yet eye-catching. There’s not a whole lot of green lingerie, and there’s barely any green padded bras in my size range. The color pops on my skin and contrasts with my red hair perfectly. I only wish the black contrast was on the top of the cups like it is in the demi model because I like the way it looks.

203_0300.jpg

My one criticism from the first impression is that the fabric makes a noise when you rub your fingers over it, and it’s not as soft as it looks. I’m okay with the $65 price point for this as it’s similar to other brands, but I would not feel comfortable paying $79 for one of the longlines with this material even though it’s a custom made bra. Compared to my Curvy Kate Daily Boost and Cacique Demi, this one doesn’t feel as nice to the touch and can get slightly uncomfortable when my skin is a little more sensitive.

203_0301.jpg

I’ll break up the fit into multiple sections for simplicity:

Band: This is the trickiest part of this review, so I’ll get it out of the way first. This band is extremely tight to the point where I don’t think this should be labelled a 38 band. When I first got it, it only measured to 35 inches and I had to use an extender. After wearing it for a month, I’ve stretched it out to 36 inches which fits without an extender but is very snug. I’d recommend sizing up at least 2 band sizes. The band is also shorter than I’d like, so I get some spillage at the sides and back where I’m a little more fleshy. If this band didn’t have three rows of four hooks, I would still need an extender. The hooks are also pulling out of the bra already, which I rarely experience even in bras that I always wear an extender with.

203_0322.jpg

Cups: The cups are a little small for me, but I already expected that would happen because I measure a 36L/LL at the moment. Despite being about a cup or two too small for me, I don’t have quadboob in the traditional sense. My larger side does bulge out more than the smaller side though. What I do have is amazing cleavage, which is something I don’t experience very often due to my size and splayed wide-set breasts.

203_0302.jpg

When I first tried this bra on, I got a weird slightly boxy shape from an angle and the cups weren’t conforming to my breasts at the top edge. After wearing it all day and all night, it fit a lot better which leads me to believe you need to break in this bra before judging the fit. Keep in mind I have super soft breast tissue.
Ideally to get a great fit, I’d need at least a cup or two larger and a band larger. This comes out to a 40N or O, which is not a size made by Wellfitting or I would have exchanged this one for it. If I search by measurements on Bratabase, this measures similar to a Curvy Kate Daily Boost in a 34JJ, a Bravissimo padded plunge in 34J, and various Ewa Michalak PL bras in a 36JJ. It runs over a half inch smaller in depth and a half inch more narrow than my 36JJ Flirtelle Lena that I can still wear comfortably despite it being way too small.

203_0304.jpg

Straps: The straps are less than an inch wide, and they dig into me really badly. I have the straps adjusted halfway, which would be amazing if they were more comfortable. If I adjust the straps as short as I need them, they fold over and leave deep red lines in my skin. Of course, this might be because the cup is too small, but I have plenty of bras that are too small for me that don’t cause me this much discomfort at the straps. As with most brands, the straps are too widely spaced for my sloped shoulders and they dig in near my armpits because they’re too wide.

203_0321.jpg

Wires: I notice that my breasts don’t reach the very bottom of the cup on my larger side, so I’m assuming that the wire is a little too narrow on that side combined with the fact that the cup is too small. The wires are the perfect length for me, and they don’t dig in or cause any discomfort. The gore is nice and short at 4 inches, but it is lifted a little bit due to the cups being small.

BAA73CDD-065B-458D-97C8-F205B2C59F9D.jpg
Shape: The shape I get is really rounded on the sides and really lifted and pushed together at the front. If I wear this bra under a tight shirt, I look a lot more busty and my waist looks more defined. It’s a true T shirt bra and despite fit issues, it looks smooth and flawless under a shirt. The seams don’t show through and I never have to worry about whether or not my nipples will show. I don’t really own many shirts that show my cleavage, but after getting this bra and seeing how great my boobs look, I cut the neckline of a shirt so that my cleavage would be on display.

IMG_9827.JPG

In summary: This bra looks amazing on me and is perfect under clothes, but the sizing being so off is causing tons of fit issues that can’t be ignored. I hope they can either work out the kinks in their sizing or expand their range to offset the sizing discrepancies. If they do, I’ll gladly be a happy customer. Wellfitting is making a ton of progress considering they’ve only been around for 3 years, and I’m glad to see another brand on the market that’s providing options like this. I’d recommend giving them a try if you have average/slightly narrow roots and can work out what size you’d need from them. This review was extremely critical because I’m trying to give them feedback to help them in the future.

203_0310.jpg

I do have a referral link for 10% off, and I do get a kickback if you use it. At this point in time I would not recommend this brand for my size range, although they seem to fit much better on people with smaller cup sizes than myself.

Appearance: 9 out of 10

Fit: 5 out of 10

Comfort: 5 out of 10

Quality: 6 out of 10

Shape: 8 out of 10

Overall: 6.6 out of 10

9 thoughts on “Wellfitting Liftsational Classic Plunge Review (38N)

  1. babesbrasandbooze September 3, 2016 at 4:32 am Reply

    In the beige colorway my 44 band stretches now to 50 inches, so color makes a big difference in sizing with this bra. Probably because the band on mine is mesh and not the soft fabric of the outer cups like yours is. Good to know to band size up in this colorway!

    Like

    • RollsAndCurves September 9, 2016 at 5:45 am Reply

      Thank you for letting me know! That’s a very important thing to keep in mind if I try other Wellfitting bras.

      Like

  2. Cait September 10, 2016 at 3:53 am Reply

    Hey! I just thought I’d comment that Comexim and Wellfitting will make sizes that aren’t on their site (I’ve even seen up to an R!), and that you can also have them make alterations to the things you didn’t like, such as moving the straps in so they’re in a more comfortable location for you. If you send the women at Wellfitting pictures, they’re really great about getting back to you with changes they think would help in your next bra. πŸ™‚ It’s a gorgeous color on you, and it’s always nice to see a colorful bra for us busty women.

    Like

    • RollsAndCurves September 10, 2016 at 4:00 am Reply

      Hello! Thanks for your feedback. πŸ™‚

      Unfortunately their cup sizing tapers off as you increase the band. Neither Comexim or Wellfitting will make my cup size equivalent in my band size. They do make larger cup sizes in smaller bands. Wellfitting sent me this one because they thought it would be the best size and shape for my breasts. I’d ideally need the straps moved in to get a better fit. A larger band and cup would help too.

      I hope they can work out their sizing soon. I feel like this bra runs way too small for something labelled “38JJ.” Thankfully Wellfitting has been extremely receptive to constructive criticism and it seems like they really want to change some things to give a better fit.

      Like

      • Cait September 10, 2016 at 3:25 pm

        Ah, that totally makes sense and was something I hadn’t considered, having a smaller band myself. Thanks for pointing it out to me! I have noticed that Comexim-made bras tend to run a size small in the band, which would make that problem even worse. I hope they can expand their size range to include women who need those larger band sizes soon.

        Liked by 1 person

      • RollsAndCurves September 14, 2016 at 3:14 am

        I really hope I can get a size that fits in Comexim/Wellfitting soon. I really love this bra, but it’s way too small and can get sort of uncomfortable to wear. 😦

        Like

  3. Sylvia September 10, 2016 at 10:43 pm Reply

    Thanks for the very informative review! I have been eyeing this bra for a while. I think I will hold off awhile since I haven’t quite figured out my breast shape (I am embarrassed to admit my newbie status to the world of bra-fitting despite my large size and advanced age).

    Liked by 1 person

    • RollsAndCurves September 14, 2016 at 3:16 am Reply

      Aww! It’s okay! Everyone starts somewhere!

      I’d recommend reading this post by a friend of mine. It’s pretty comprehensive and helpful if you’re trying to pinpoint your shape. http://thepetitecollegiate.com/photo-glossary/

      You could also check out A Bra That Fits on reddit. They’re super helpful when it comes to figuring out what bras will suit your shape.

      Like

  4. […] to 50 inches. However, I know some people have experienced the opposite problem.Β  I think the green bras fit smaller because they are using the cup fabric on the band, whereas both my bands were made of a stretchy mesh. The cups fit according to Wellfitting’s […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

