Elila Stretch Lace Full Coverage Underwire Review (44J, 2XL)

This is the third installment of my Elila series. Check out this post for an introduction to the brand as a whole, and this post for a review of their Lace Softcup. In this post, I’m reviewing the 2311 Lace Underwire bra in a 44J, which comes out to a 44GG in UK sizes. This sister sizes to a 36JJ. This one is in their fantastic coral colorway, which is a color I never really see in my size range. This set was sent to me for free in exchange for my comprehensive and honest review. All opinions are my own and aren’t affected by the fact that I got this for free.

2016-06-24 (3).png

The Lace Underwire bra is constructed with a 3 part full cup design, and features the same full cup sling that the soft cup bra had. The material is a double layer of mesh and super soft stretchy lace. There is absolutely nothing scratchy about this bra. The design is rounded out with wide and fully adjustable padded straps, and a wide full band with 4 hooks. I love the coral colorway, and I think it looks nice against my fair skin. I think it would pop and look even better on deeper skintones though.I love that the lace pattern is a more modern one, as it keeps it from looking too “old fashioned” for a contemporary audience.

203_0198.JPG

Since this is a traditional underwire bra, I feel like I can review it normally and break the fit down into a few sections for simplicity and readability. For reference, I usually wear a 36KK-LL and sister sizes. My favorite brands are Panache, Bravissimo, Elomi, and Ewa Michalak.

203_0197.JPG

Cups: These cups are super, super tall and run large for a 36JJ sister size. They are easily the tallest in my collection. The width and depth measurements are even larger than my Bravissimo Nordic Rose in 36L. For comparison’s sake the cups are 2.5 inches taller than the Panache Tango in 38JJ, which is said to be super tall. I actually feel like I could size down a cup. I opted to keep this size because my breasts have started growing like crazy and I’m going to be back on the pill, so I wanted to make sure I’d have something that could accommodate me if I grew any more. While this is billed as stretch lace bra, the lace used isn’t as stretchy as the lace you’ll find on the Panache Jasmine or Ewa Michalak BM and FB bras. Due to the height and the type of lace, it does gape slightly when I slouch and push my shoulders forward.

203_0165.jpg

The full cup sling is fabulous. It holds the breasts in place and provides padding to the underwires. I’ve heard many plus size women say that underwires can hurt because they dig into your fleshier bits, but this bra is designed to avoid that altogether. It gives the support of a classic underwire bra with the comfort of a stretchy soft cup. I’ve seriously never worn a bra this comfortable in my life. Despite only having a 3 part cup, I feel incredibly supported and can even jump and run up and down the stairs with minimal boob movement.

203_0196.jpg

Shape: The shape is the best cross between vintage and modern that I’ve seen in any bra. From the side, it gives a nice rounded silhouette with decent projection. From the front, it still manages to give a separated shape that looks very hourglassy from the front. At an angle it gives a modern uplifted shape, with a slight point that I know some women find extremely flattering under clothing. It’s all a matter of personal preference.

203_0184.jpg

Band: This band is clearly too large for me. I’m wearing it on the tightest hooks and it’s still way too loose. I experimented with having my boyfriend pull the band to the tightness I’d need, and I noticed that the fit improved all over and the cups and gore were flatter. If I could try this in a different size, I’d be curious to see how the 40K fits. That would be 2 band sizes and 1 cup volume smaller than this one.

203_0175.jpg

I’m happy to see that this is a true 44 and stretches to exactly 44 inches. I find that the larger you get in band sizes, the stretchier they are to the point where some women can actually size down to get support. There are some Cacique 44s that can stretch to 48 inches, for example. This is not the case here.

Wires: The wires appear to be too wide for me, but I think it’s just because I have trouble reaching the very bottom of the cups due to the full cup sling. No matter how I adjust, I can’t get my breast into the sling without it folding and resting against the wire. I get a little wrinkle in the front where the wire and sling meet, but I notice this little wrinkle in promotional images from Elila so I don’t think it’s a huge deal. This effect is minimized when I imitated the look of a tighter band.

203_0182.jpg

2016-07-02 (2).png

Bra on Elila’s own model. Little wrinkles visible at bottom of cup. Picture credit goes to Elila. By the way, I absolutely love their model.

The gore is extremely tall (the tallest in my collection, a full inch taller than the Panache Tango) and can tend to hover due to it’s height. It’s also designed to have a V shape at the top, but I don’t personally understand the advantages of the V shape as opposed to a standard gore.

203_0183.jpg

Straps: If you’ve been keeping up with my blog, you’ll know that I have sloped shoulders and find most straps too widely set or long for my liking. This bra is no exception. I wear a Strap Saver with this bra during regular wear because they don’t adjust short enough for me. You might be able to see in the pictures that the straps are essentially resting on the very edges of my shoulders without them. I should mention that this problem isn’t as bad on my 42K babydoll that follows the same construction as this bra, so it seems like I’m having this problem because the band is too large and the bra is made for someone that’s larger than I am.

203_0181.jpg

Elila straps seriously spoil me though. They don’t dig in at all, and the front part of the strap that connects to the cup is padded with the material that makes up the cup sling. It keeps me from getting chafed in my armpits and feels super comfy. I notice the chafing a lot more in other bras because they don’t have this feature.

Panties: I absolutely love the Stretch Lace Cheeky Panty. It’s so full coverage and offers firm support. I’m wearing the size 2XL which is a spot on perfect fit for me. I love how the stretch lace is extremely stretchy and conforms to the butt, even if you don’t have a lot going on in the butt department. These panties are amazing to wear with jeans or under dresses because they really smooth out your stomach. Although the seam doesn’t line up perfectly with my butt crack, the lace is so soft that it doesn’t bother me. I normally hate panties that show my butt cheeks through them, but these are my favorite underwear. The gusset is relatively narrow, so keep that in mind if that sort of thing bothers you. My only criticism is that the coral colorway is slightly shiny, and since it’s a much lighter color than the black it does show more lumps and bumps. If this concerns you, I’d try the black, plum, or red colorway over the coral or ivory.

203_0180.jpg

In summary: This bra is the most thoughtfully constructed bra I’ve ever seen in the full bust/plus size bra market. It’s extremely comfortable and supportive and gives a great shape that I didn’t expect to get. The pitfalls are that it’s a tall bra all over, so shorter women or women with high set or short rooted breasts may have problems with the cup and gore height. I’d definitely recommend trying this with free returns because it can take a little bit of time to find out what size you actually need. This bra runs massively huge compared to other bras in a similar size range. The panties actually complement the set rather than just being thrown together for aesthetics. This is a beautiful functional set that I’d recommend to fans of Elomi and Panache. I will definitely be purchasing more and trying it in other colors and sizes.

This bra is available at many retailers and is usually between $45-$50, making it very affordable despite the quality, comfort, and support I get from it. I could easily see them charging $65-$70 for something this good.

Appearance: 8 out of 10

Fit: 5 out of 10

Comfort: 10 out of 10

Quality: 9.5 out of 10

Shape: 8 out of 10

Overall: 8.1 out of 10

 

Leave a Reply

