Elila Lace Softcup Review (42K, 3XL)

If you haven’t read my intro to Elila, check it out here. In that post I go over the bras and sizes I tried originally, the sizes I tried and kept, my experience with the brand’s customer service, and some universal pros and cons of the pieces I tried. I kept all that information in one place so that it’s easier to find my general opinion of the brand as a whole (based on what I tried.)

In this post, I’m reviewing the Lace Softcup in a 42K, and the Lace Microfiber Panties in a 3XL. This set was generously gifted to me by Elila in exchange for my honest review. All opinions are my own.

2016-06-24.png

I’m going to start my series of Elila reviews with the one everyone would probably be most curious about. I see a lot of posts on the internet looking for wireless bras in large cup sizes. While most women feel comfortable wearing a traditional underwire bra, there are plenty of women that can’t or don’t want to wear one for a variety of valid reasons. The main reason I personally wanted to try a wireless bra is because I’m a chronic pain sufferer and when my flare ups get really bad I can’t stand the feeling of underwires and pressure on my ribcage. My bras are properly fitted (I wear a 36LL/38L) but due to my bust size I can experience some discomfort around the underbust area from the sheer amount of weight resting on the band area. I can’t sleep in underwire bras either because they bring my boobs too front and center to the point where they crowd my neck and make it hard to breathe. I tried and loved the Hanes JMS wirefree bra that I reviewed here, but was curious about trying a more structured wirefree bra.

IMG_7873.JPG

Sorry for cell phone picture. This shows how it looks when I first put it on.

The Elila Lace Softcup is a 3 piece lace cup with something called a “full cup sling” which is essentially a foam-like boob cradle that’s supposed to hold the boobs in place. The lace used isn’t the softest I’ve ever felt, but it’s not so scratchy that it would irritate my sensitive skin. I imagine it would soften over time. The fuchsia color is gorgeous and looks amazing against my skin tone. I feel like it would look great on a variety of skintones. The straps are a moderate width and aren’t too widely spaced, which is great for me with my sloping shoulders. I like that this bra has a hook and eye closure in the back because it gives me a few options to adjust for how tight I want the band to be. This bra has 4 hooks and eyes which gives the band more stability and reduces the chance of back fat showing.

203_0139.jpg

This is how it looks once my breasts settle into the cups.

My first impression of this bra is that it works much better than I thought it would. My boobs feel supported without any extra pressure that can sometimes be felt with an underwire bra if you have extremely heavy breasts. An important thing to note is that you need to do a lot more rearranging to get into a bra like this because there’s no wires to guide your boobs into place. Despite the bra being decently supportive, I feel like the fit could definitely be improved upon. My boobs don’t come anywhere close to the bottom of the cups, which means I have to scoop my boobs the opposite way to avoid spillage. The band also flips up during wear because it’s not being held down properly due to the extra space at the bottom of the cup.

203_0142.jpg
Even though this bra is super supportive and pretty, I can’t see myself wearing it out because the shape is very old fashioned. It gives a pointy and east/west look that I personally don’t prefer. That said, I’ve been wearing this bra around the house all the time because it’s very comfortable and supportive. I like sleeping in this and wearing it during Netflix binges and other times that I want support without the fuss of a normal bra. If my boobs met the bottom of the cup and could be adjusted normally, I feel like the shape would improve drastically.

203_0151.jpg

The panties are incredibly comfortable and soft. The fabric is silky and smooth and feels amazing against the skin. It has a nice wide gusset which is really comfortable for me personally. I find that it wicks away sweat and doesn’t cause me to feel hot the way some nylon underwear can. The lace is very sturdy and stretches without becoming weak or thin. My only gripe with them is that they’re not as high waisted as I’d prefer, and when I pull them up to where I want them to sit I get spillage from the leg holes. When I let them go down where they want to sit, I get a huge tummy bulge that I’d rather not have. Despite not having the coverage I want in the front, the back is very high and full coverage. If you prefer a full coverage style, size up. I usually wear a 2X across the board but felt like the 3X was the best option for me.

203_0159.jpg

Although I do like this bra and it has a place in my regular rotation, I wouldn’t recommend it if your breasts are very pendulous like mine. This would be phenomenal in much smaller sizes or different shapes that won’t fight with the cups so much. At the end of it all, I have to thank Elila for making this option available for the women that may want it. There is a newfound demand for wireless bras in all size ranges, and it’s important that everyone can find the type of bra they want and need.

203_0155.jpg

Appearance: 6 out of 10

Fit: 3 out of 10

Comfort: 8 out of 10

Quality: 8 out of 10

Shape: 4 out of 10

Overall: 5.8 out of 10

4 thoughts on “Elila Lace Softcup Review (42K, 3XL)

  1. wendybien June 24, 2016 at 7:58 pm Reply

    I went through a fairly extensive “retro soft cup” experiment a couple years ago and this is how the structured soft cups fit me when the cup size was too large. Because the seamed full cups are so supportive and conical they hold up the bulk of the boob and leave empty space below, instead of having a gap above the breast the way you would in a wired bra. Did you get a chance to try the same model but down one or 2 cup sizes?

    Like

    • RollsAndCurves July 2, 2016 at 7:53 pm Reply

      I’m interested to try this in a smaller cup size to see how it works out. I’ll update when I try it. There’s not much info out there about soft cups in large sizes.

      Like

  2. Patsy Murrell June 30, 2016 at 3:58 pm Reply

    Hi, thanks for posting this review. We are just about to start selling Elila at Harmony Blue and this style is among them. Very interesting and very good detail in your review. Thanks again. Patsy.

    Like

    • RollsAndCurves July 2, 2016 at 7:53 pm Reply

      Thank you for the kind words.

      I have more Elila reviews on the way.

      Like

Leave a Reply

