Panache Melody Full Cup Review (38JJ, 40K)

Today I’m reviewing the Panache Melody Full Cup bra, which was produced from AW2010-AW2013. It was available in both a Full Cup and a Balconette construction, and shares a cut with the Panache Harmony and Rumeur. It’s interesting to note that this is one of few bras Panache has ever produced in a KK cup. It can be argued that bad reviews and poor sales caused Panache to abandon the idea of making sizes larger than a K cup.

r701886-p707663-front.jpg

I want to go over a few things before I start this review.

First of all, I know this bra is long discontinued and has a really bad reputation in the bra fitting community. Despite the fact that it’s no longer produced, it is still very easy to find. You can find the Panache Melody Full Cup and Balconette on eBay and at some retailers like Breakout Bras. I always avoided this bra even though it was always extremely cheap because I thought it would be a huge disaster. I was pleasantly surprised when it came in my Grab Bag from Breakout Bras and was one of the best fitting bras I owned at the time. I liked it so much that when I grew out of my original 38JJ, I bought the 40K (36L sister size.) I did not have the same bad experience that others did.

DSCF2151.JPG

38JJ

Second of all, I know this bra isn’t a textbook perfect fit. I find that the larger my breasts become, the less I care about a perfectly proper fit. If a bra supports me, makes my boobs look good, and doesn’t cause me any pain or discomfort I view it as “fitting” me even though there may be a few fit quibbles. It’s already hard enough to find bras in my size to begin with, and I’ve accepted that I will never have a textbook perfect fit in any bra due to my breast size, breast shape, body shape, and the way bras are constructed in this size range. As such, I don’t need to see a bunch of rude comments and messages about this not fitting me perfectly. It works for me and that’s all that matters. Please respect my fit preferences.

DSCF2154.JPG

38JJ

Onto the review…

The first thing I noticed about this bra when I removed the packaging was how soft the fabric is. It’s mostly nylon, unlike most full bust bras that are made out of polyester. It’s extremely smooth and lightweight and feels comfortable against the skin. It minimizes boob sweat even on extremely hot days, and is even comfortable enough to sleep in. The upper cup going into the strap area is made of a mesh material, but I don’t find it excessively scratchy or uncomfortable. I have extremely sensitive skin and have never had a problem with it. The first time I wore my Panache Melody out of the house, I had it on for 14 hours and never had to adjust myself. When I took it off at the end of the day to measure it for Bratabase, I put it right back on and wore it for about 8 more hours. I never wear a bra for that long.

DSCF2160.JPG

38JJ

I know most women in the lingerie community avoid “nude” full cups, myself included, but something about this one appeals to me. I noted in my original Bratabase review that most bras make my boobs look small, but this bra makes me look pretty busty while still being minimized. It’s the perfect balance between being “in your face” and “completely squashed down.”

DSCF2164.JPG

38JJ

The Melody Full Cup is an extremely basic 3-part cup design with a diagonal seam. It has a full band, but it doesn’t have any excess fabric underneath that could cause discomfort. There’s nothing special about this bra that makes me love it so much. I honestly can’t tell you why it’s one of my favorites in terms of fit.

I’ll break the fit up into multiple sections for simplicity:

203_0062edit.jpg

40K

Cups: The cups are pretty spot on for me in both sizes that I tried. I do notice that if my boobs aren’t particularly full during certain times of my cycle, I get a tiny bit of gaping from the lace on top. It doesn’t show under clothing and isn’t even important enough to notice. The cups have some wrinkling when I lift my arms, but I attribute that to the material rather than a fit issue. You can see a crease on the side where my breast root stops (due to the sheer fabric), but despite my super short roots I don’t have any problems with this bra.

203_0063edit.jpg

40K

Shape: The shape this bra gives me is extremely natural and rounded. It’s not too east-west, it’s not too front and center, and it’s not too shallow or projected. It’s right in the middle. When I wear this under clothing, it gives an incredible slimming effect that doesn’t make me look “too busty.” I can’t complain about the shape at all. I call it the “My Boobs but Better” bra which is borrowed from the “My Lips But Better” lipstick trend.

203_0083edit.jpg

40K

Underwires: I have a tiny bit of empty space in the 40K where my breasts don’t meet the underwires by the gore, but the gore tacks and I feel supported regardless. I think the wires are a little too wide in the 40K version because the bra is made for someone 4 inches wider around than me. They don’t dig in or rub at the sides, and I don’t experience a loss of support or any discomfort. It’s a purely cosmetic issue that doesn’t bother me.

203_0076edit.jpg

40K

Straps: The straps are spaced pretty fairly for me. I’d prefer them to be moved in a tiny bit, but it’s nowhere near as bad as some bras that I’ve tried. The straps are fully adjustable and as such they don’t fall off my shoulders. They don’t dig in because they’re extremely strong and sturdy.

203_0078edit.jpg

40K

Band: The band is obviously too large in both sizes I tried given that I’ve always measured around 35-37 inches at the underbust, and as such I had to wear both sizes on the tightest hooks. I don’t feel like the band rides up despite being way too large. This is a really comfortable band, and I notice that it doesn’t fold up or rub my sternum under the gore like some bras can. The only small thing I can pick on is the fact that the little rose in the middle moves around a lot and doesn’t stay centered.

203_0079edit.jpg

40K

In closing, it’s an extremely comfortable basic bra that has remained a staple in my bra wardrobe for almost a year. I think it works fairly well on my full on top, short rooted, wide set, wide rooted, pendulous, and splayed breasts.

38JJ ranking:

Appearance: 7 out of 10

Fit: 8 out of 10

Comfort: 10 out of 10

Quality: 9 out of 10

Shape: 8 out of 10

Overall: 8.4 out of 10

 

40K ranking:

Appearance: 7 out of 10

Fit: 6 out of 10

Comfort: 10 out of 10

Quality: 9 out of 10

Shape: 8 out of 10

Overall: 8 out of 10

*I am not sponsored by Breakout Bras. They just happen to be my favorite retailer. If you live in the US, check them out. Seriously. They ship things so fast and have great customer service.

 

10 thoughts on “Panache Melody Full Cup Review (38JJ, 40K)

  1. Miss Shapen May 31, 2016 at 3:24 am Reply

    I’m with you on finding that the larger boobs get, the more anything that gives support and looks good (or even okay, at this point) while not causing me discomfort (or at least only causing a minimum of discomfort) = fits. I’m sort of out of options at this point. Am working on my own re-entry into the blogosphere, and am working on a post about this kind of thing. Would love to get some thoughts from you, if you’re interested – drop me a line if so?

    Thanks for your post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • RollsAndCurves May 31, 2016 at 3:47 am Reply

      Wow! I’m so shocked you just commented on my blog because you were actually the one who inspired me to start my blog. :’D

      It was your post on modesty that really stuck with me and has inspired me this entire time. Thank you for commenting on my blog.

      I’ll be sure to get in contact with you. What’s the best way to reach you?

      Like

  2. kerniss May 31, 2016 at 5:48 pm Reply

    Y’know, I’ve been feeling the same way about “fit” and whatnot. I’ve resigned myself to the fact that nothing I have is going to be 100% perfect (with tacking gores, even bands, etc) because of how my body is. If it makes me feel good to wear it, I’m gonna wear it. WOO!
    I’m surprised by how much I like the embroidery on the top section! I feel like the stock photo didn’t show me it properly. I love its shininess ❤
    Do you think you would try it in the balconette version in the future? 😮

    Liked by 1 person

    • RollsAndCurves May 31, 2016 at 11:59 pm Reply

      I don’t know if anyone else experiences this, but I actually feel kind of uncomfortable if a bra is a 100% perfect textbook fit. Gores that tack too hard and wires that sit in my IMF perfectly can get uncomfortable especially when it’s hot outside and my body swells a little bit. Yes, it’s important to be supported in a bra, but different people have different fit preferences and no one preference is more valid than another. I feel like a lot of people obsess over the smallest fit issues and return a bra that they love just because of insignificant things that don’t impact support and comfort.

      The Melody is great. I love it. The stock photos don’t do it justice at all. I don’t think I’ll try the balconette. I have the Panache Harmony in a 32KK (36JJ sister size with 2 extenders) and the bandless construction really lets me down. I usually need a full band to get any support. The Cleo Lucy failed on me for the same reason.

      Like

      • kerniss June 1, 2016 at 6:06 am

        Oh absolutely! I have sensory problems in general, so I’ve realized that most of my fit problems go away when I’m in cup sizes “too small”. That way, the gore is lower and less likely to attack my sternum, the cups are lower on the sides (to save my poor armpits), and..well, I like larger bands, too. Comfort is comfort. In the beginning of bra-fitting, I was obsessed with the fit, but now I sort of don’t care anymore so long as I’m happy with it LOL. The IMF thing is what I like, though, because otherwise the underwires are just making my ribs really sore – but I totally understand why that isn’t the case for everyone! It’s also hard to find one right in the IMF anyway, at least from this corner.
        I agree with your bandless woes 😦 I have the same problem.

        Liked by 1 person

    • RollsAndCurves June 1, 2016 at 6:27 am Reply

      I definitely used to obsess over small fit issues. I returned or sold so many bras that I would love to get back. I sold my Cleo Minnie for being a little bit too small, and now I can’t track down one in my size. The girl I sold my Minnie to ended up relisting it on Bratabase, so I might just buy it back.

      Like

  3. Alexa June 1, 2016 at 12:48 pm Reply

    I completely agree that finding the right fit as an individual is far more important that getting a technically correct fit, especially when that would actually cause discomfort. I can generally fit two hands under my bra bands – never mind two fingers – but firm support is not critical for me and I hate tight clothing, so that’s how I like them. I’m in a different size range, but have an awkward shape, so I’ve had to accept that I’m never going to find a perfect fit and just do the best I can to fulfill my own requirements (mostly coverage and shaping). Most of my bras on Bratabase that I consider to fit have at least one issue (usually too wide or shallow), but they do want I want them to do (enhance my shape), so I’m happy to compromise.

    Like

    • RollsAndCurves June 14, 2016 at 10:17 pm Reply

      I agree with you about Bratabase. I have very few bras on there that are listed as “fitting” even though I’d consider them to fit me fairly well. I know people that have zero bras that fit on Bratabase because they have to use things like extenders or Strap Savers to get a good fit.

      I started wearing looser bands recently. I’ve gone up another cup volume and find that all that weight sitting directly on my underbust is giving me a harsh and angry line. 38 bands might ride up, but at least they don’t give me nasty lines that don’t go away.

      Like

  4. Carla Parazine September 10, 2016 at 7:59 pm Reply

    Hi, just found you. I’ve been searching and searching for a bra that fits, yet is pretty and sexy, even though no one is going to see it except me!! ha. Also, I’m old and everything I find is old ladyish, which……….I’m not! I still feel young and pretty (64) and my beloved husband thought I was also. I was so hoping the Panache would give me something, but everything is ‘discontinued.’ sigh…………… I am a 42L or a 44KK in UK sizes. Since I’m in the US that means I need a 42/44…………..M, N or O!!!!!!!!!!!!! where oh where do you find those sizes in pretty undergarments? I’m hopeless. I feel like I’m trying to buy to fit and enlarged cow udder!!!???##@@@@ Got any hope for me?

    Like

    • RollsAndCurves September 14, 2016 at 3:22 am Reply

      Hi there!

      The first thing I would recommend is for you to double check your measurements. I’d recommend the A Bra That Fits calculator on reddit. The website is http://www.brasizecalculator.tk.

      Once you know your size for sure, you can start figuring out your breast shape which will help you immensely when you start to try bras. All of that information can be found in the sidebar on A Bra That Fits.

      Unfortunately, there’s not many brands out there that make the size you’ve stated. Ewa Michalak does, but the long shipping times and narrow wires can be a dealbreaker for some. Fortunately, Ewa Michalak’s bras are dead sexy and high quality. They’re definitely worth it if you can fit into them.

      Another brand that you might be able to fit into is Elila. I have multiple Elila reviews on my blog that might help you. They claim to only go to a US K cup, but my ideal size in their bras is a US 40K which happens to be a size I frequently buy in UK sizes.Their cups run massive and their bras are pretty and comfortable. I’d recommend trying the 44K first. They have some amazing underwired options that I have reviews of.

      You’re not a cow! You’re a beautiful person that’s trying to find a bra that fits you. Feel free to ask me for help when you start to try bras in your size. ❤ Good luck!

      Like

Leave a Reply

