Extra Strength Strap Saver Review

Note: I tried this product for free after winning a giveaway. I was not paid to post this review. All of the opinions stated here are my own. The underwear are these from Elila. Thigh highs are the Glamory fishnets from this post.

As I’ve said numerous times on my blog, I am short with high set breasts and sloping shoulders. Most bra straps are way too long for me, which causes a loss of support and shaping, along with the annoying side effect of straps that fall off my shoulders. I usually have to alter my bra straps with a needle and thread.

I won a giveaway hosted on the blog “Esty Lingerie“, and was promptly contacted by Strap Saver about trying the Extra Strength Strap Savers instead of the standard ones. Of course I agreed to be one of the first people to try them out. They came in an adorable satin pouch with the Strap Saver logo on it, which is equal parts adorable and functional. It also came with instructions, business cards, and a note. It’s not like some places that send you small pieces in a boring plastic baggie with no information.

I decided to test it on the Bravissimo Alana, and the fit looks so much better than it originally did. In all of the images below, the top is how the bra looks without the Strap Saver ES and the bottom is how it looks with them. Not only am I getting more lift, the shape I’m getting is so much better. The gore even tacks more than it used to. I surprisingly don’t have to have it adjusted as short as it can go with the Strap Saver. I have about an inch and a half of extra space that I could adjust to. I noticed that my nipples were covered up more when I had the Strap Saver on the bra, probably because the cups are pulled taught and the extra wrinkled fabric is minimized.

203_0057edit.jpg

203_0093edit.jpg

To be honest, I had a tremendous amount of difficulty getting my Strap Savers to actually work on my bra. Once I figured out how to do it, it seemed so much easier and I felt silly for getting so stressed out about it. Erica from A Sophisticated Pair can explain it so much better than I can, so I urge you to check out her blog post. I’ll include a photo of what my strap looks like with the Strap Saver on it.

203_0110.JPG

Despite the fact that the Strap Saver Extra Strength does actually work and helped me save a bra that wasn’t getting a lot of use, I do have a few issues with it that potential buyers should be aware of. They don’t completely damage my opinion of the Strap Saver ES, but I can imagine they’d be deal breakers for other people.

203_0058edit.jpg

203_0096edit.jpg

The edge of the Strap Saver has a little hook at the end that’s used to keep it on the strap, and if you’re not careful it can pull on your strap and cause slight damage. Some of the scalloped embroidery on my Alana straps was pulled out a little bit. Because of this I wouldn’t recommend using the Strap Saver on textured or embroidered straps. I also wouldn’t risk using it on a bra you’re particularly attached to. Since the Strap Saver was originally invented to prolong the life of old bras, it might be better suited to that purpose alone if you’re worried about strap damage.

203_0059edit.jpg

203_0095edit.jpg

Another issue I’ve noticed is that the Strap Savers can become bent very easily, which may cause them to slide around during wear. I’m not sure if mine are bending because of my extremely heavy bust, or if it’s because I have to have my straps so tight to fit me properly. They can be bent back into place pretty easily. I did have an incident where one of my straps accidentally slipped out of the Strap Saver and I noticed I wasn’t getting the support and shape I got with it. You have to be careful when putting on your bra with a Strap Saver because you can accidentally pull it off if you tug your straps too hard.

203_0046edit.jpg

203_0085edit

Despite the issues I have with the Strap Saver, it’s a really innovative product and I’m glad that I was able to try it out. It’s so much easier to just attach a Strap Saver instead of having to sew every bra with straps that are too long. I really wasn’t looking forward to sewing through the thick straps on the Alana. I’ve worn the Alana a lot more since I’ve had the Extra Strength Strap Savers. I’d say the issues that I listed above happen when I’ve worn the bra for more than 8 hours, or if I’ve been doing anything even remotely physical.

203_0047edit.jpg

203_0087edit.jpgOn a scale from 1-10, 10 being the best and 1 being the worst, I’d give the Extra Strength Strap Saver a 7 out of 10. I’ve never tried the original Strap Saver so I can’t say how they compare.

When I originally reviewed the Bravissimo Alana, I gave it a 6.8 due to the fit issues I had. The Alana with the Strap Saver would be more like a 7.6.

My updated ranking for the Bravissimo Alana is as such:

Appearance: 7 out of 10

Fit: 7 out of 10

Comfort: 8 out of 10

Quality: 9 out of 10

Shape: 7 out of 10

Overall: 7.6 out of 10

 

Here was the old ranking:

Appearance: 7 out of 10

Fit: 5 out of 10

Comfort: 8 out of 10

Quality: 9 out of 10

Shape: 5 out of 10

Overall: 6.8 out of 10

 

Leave a Reply

