50352 Glamory Mesh Fishnet Thigh Highs Review (XL: 48-50)

Full disclosure, I received these as a gift from fellow blogger Avigayil of Lingerie Detective. You can find her review of these exact stockings on her blog. The fact that I received them as a gift does not impact how I feel about these stockings.

Glamory Hosiery is a hosiery brand based in Germany. They’ve been around since 2005, and they make hosiery from size medium to 5XL. Their largest size can accommodate someone who’s 6’6″ and 330 pounds. That’s a pretty impressive range for a hosiery company, seeing as how most brands carry one standard size and one plus size option.

Glamory wasn’t carried in the United States until hosiery lovers Tim and Delilah tried them out and fell in love with them. Delilah wasn’t satisfied with the “One Size Fits All” or “Queen” size hosiery options available. They loved the brand so much that they offered to sell them in the United States so that other US customers could try them out. The biggest downside of the brand right now is that very few retailers sell Glamory in the US, although they are trying to find more stockists. There’s a full list of retailers on their website.

50352.jpg

Image from their website

My first impression of these stockings is that they feel much more substantial than the brands you’d find in lower quality lingerie boutiques or sex shops. You can definitely tell these are made to last for a longer period of time. The lace band features a hidden silicone strip that goes around the circumference of the thigh and sticks slightly to the skin. The mesh and lace aren’t scratchy in the slightest. I was pleasantly surprised right away.

The first time I tried these on, my legs were extremely hairy. I probably hadn’t shaved them in 2 months. The silicone band absolutely would not stick to my legs, and the bands rolled down almost immediately. When the bands rolled down they caused a considerable amount of “muffin top” on my thighs. I didn’t think that it could be because of my leg hair until my boyfriend suggested it. I just assumed they were too small.

203_0015.JPG

I shaved my legs, and tried these on a second time. This time the silicone band did stick to my thighs. I didn’t have any muffin top, and they felt extremely comfortable to wear. I tested them out by putting them under some loose pajama pants and walking around my house for a few hours, and they stayed put the entire time. That tells me that you absolutely have to have shaven legs so that the band can stick to the skin.

203_0025.JPG

Showing how baggy they are on the back of my knees.

While they don’t move during wear, I do notice that the back of the band is lower than the front. I don’t know why this is happening, but it doesn’t really bother me at all. For reference I am 5’2″and have extremely short legs. I need a 25 inch inseam in jeans. These are the perfect thigh high length for me, about halfway up the thigh. The lace bands stop my thighs from rubbing together. However, because I’m so short I do get a little bit of sagging in the back of the knee. If I wasn’t wearing these heels, I could easily roll some of the extra fabric down towards my foot to hide it.

203_0017.JPG

One of the best parts of these stockings is the fact that the toe is reinforced and solid. I didn’t have to worry about my toes poking through the holes like I do in other fishnets that don’t have a solid toe. I also wouldn’t have to worry about the toe catching on the inside of closed toe shoes and leaving me with exposed toes in a shoe.

The mesh itself is extremely durable. I don’t really have to be super careful when I put them on and take them off. I also had an incident where one of the spikes on the back of my heel got stuck when I crossed my ankles, and the mesh didn’t rip or get super stretched out.

203_0023.JPG

In case anyone was wondering, the shoes are the Betsey Johnson Garii Peep Toe Pumps in a size 9.

I would definitely have to say these run small. My thighs are 23″ at their largest point, and Avigayil’s are 28″ to 29″. The XL: 48-50 50111’s fit her like a glove, but these were too small on her. The XL: 48-50s are also supposed to fit someone who’s in the 5’3″ 220 range. I’m 5’2″ and 190. I’d recommend going up one size from what you think you need, at least in this style.

Glamory-MySize-Graphic-US.jpg

Size chart from their website

 

Sizing issues aside, these are amazing stockings and I’d recommend them to anyone who’s in the market for some plus sized thigh highs. You won’t be disappointed. I much prefer these to full tights or stockings with garters (which I actually hate.)

Thank you, Avigayil!

I quickly retouched my self harm scars in these images. Since the pictures were so close up, you could see a lot of details and I thought it would distract too much from the review. I’m not ashamed of my scars, I just didn’t want to upset anyone.

4 thoughts on “50352 Glamory Mesh Fishnet Thigh Highs Review (XL: 48-50)

  1. Athena Rork May 18, 2016 at 4:31 pm Reply

    Thank you so much for your review! I’m considering becoming a stockist and this is really helpful. I also have scars similar to the ones you had mentioned and I applaud you for bringing it up at all. It’s something that really isn’t talked about enough.

    Like

    • RollsAndCurves May 18, 2016 at 5:32 pm Reply

      I’d really recommend checking them out. At the very least, try to get ahold of a few pairs and try them out for yourself or with friends. 🙂

      Thank you so much for commenting on my scars. I know there’s a huge stigma about retouching blog photos, but I really didn’t want to upset anyone. That’s why I mentioned them so that other people wouldn’t feel alone.

      Shameless plug here, but I was offered an affiliate partnership with Glamory. If you mention my blog when contacting them to make your order, I’d get a cut. I would have mentioned it in the post but I didn’t want anyone to feel pressured or obligated to participate. You absolutely don’t have to mention me though. 🙂

      Like

  2. Avigayil June 4, 2016 at 7:29 pm Reply

    You look fab in them! Woo! So happy they fit you 😀

    Like

    • RollsAndCurves June 4, 2016 at 8:17 pm Reply

      I love them and I think I want to try some other ones from them. 🙂

      I just don’t know what size to try.

      Like

Leave a Reply

