Life and Blog Update

Hello everyone! I’ve been pretty absent and detached for the past month because I’ve been struggling with a serious bout of depression. Because my boyfriend has a new work schedule that causes me to be alone Monday-Friday, 6AM-4PM, I’ve been very lonely and it started to get to me. I’m having an extremely difficult time finding a job that will hire me because of my health issues (detailed here and here.) It’s extremely hard to stay positive when you have no job, no money, no transportation, health issues, and few friends. I just want to thank anyone that’s supported me so far. I really appreciate everyone that’s given me any kind of positive response. I want to make it clear right now that I don’t give life updates in hopes that someone will send me money. In fact, I won’t accept it. The only reason I write life updates is to shatter the belief that every single lingerie blogger lives a perfect life. I think it’s important that we discuss our personal issues so that it cements the idea that we’re just average everyday women that just happen to like bras.

My boyfriend has been helping me pay my expenses (insurance, cell phone, etc.), and unfortunately that doesn’t leave me any money to buy lingerie to review on my blog. The things I do have to review sit untouched because my self esteem is so shot right now that taking pictures of myself in any capacity is an emotionally draining experience that can trigger some body image issues from my past. I’m trying to rely less on blog samples because I know there’s a lot of stigma surrounding blogs that seem to only review things they received for free. The plus size/full bust shopping experience isn’t very good where I live, so it’s been a challenge to even find places that sell clothing I feel comfortable reviewing.

One thing I do want to do is branch out and start reviewing other things besides bras. I want to start reviewing swimwear (especially since summer is approaching fast), clothing, fashion related accessories, and anything else I find relevant. I feel like it won’t be as hard on my self esteem if I’m not always reviewing nothing but bras. Of course, I’ll still review lingerie when it’s possible for me to do so. My main focus on this blog will always be on lingerie regardless of what other items I review.

I’m also considering starting a separate blog that deals with my interests that don’t involve lingerie or clothing. Things like beauty reviews, recipes, tutorials, and things like that. I feel like it’ll make me happy to have another outlet for my other interests. I’ll be honest and say that blogging about lingerie and clothing isn’t always the most comfortable thing to do when you struggle with self esteem issues.

While I’d love to be idealistic and say that it always makes me feel good to empower myself and educate other people, it’s not always like that. I can’t see myself stopping this blog any time soon, but I feel like it would be good for both me and my readers if I spent less time on this blog until I can get a new job. There’s so many things I’d love to review but I don’t have the resources to do so. It gets really depressing seeing all the new collections come out when you can’t afford to try them out.

I appreciate your patience.

Just so that we’re all on the same page, I do have a few reviews and posts I’m working on now. I figured it would be good for me to let everyone know what to expect in the near future

Lady Voluptuous Vintage Summer Rose Verena Dress Review

Strap Saver Review

Gemm LG900 Bra Review and Alterations

Bravissimo Alana Follow Up

Glamory Hosiery 50352 Glamory Mesh Fishnet Thigh Highs Review

Torrid Swimwear and Clothing Try On

Land’s End Swimwear and Dress Try On

Sear’s Swimwear Try On

(probably more Try Ons when I can get out to more stores and try a whole bunch of things on)

If you have any suggestions, feel free to contact me at RollsAndCurvesEmail@gmail.com

6 thoughts on “Life and Blog Update

  1. cynthia0101 March 30, 2016 at 10:50 am Reply

    Take care your depression and do something that makes you feel good. Try not to worry too much as it makes things seem worse. Believe me although I don’t suffer from depression my wife does so I know what it’s like.

    Take care
    Cynthia

    Like

    • RollsAndCurves April 12, 2016 at 2:14 am Reply

      Thank you for your kind comment. I’ve really pulled away from my blog in the last couple weeks, and I feel pretty bad because there’s a spring dress I’ve had sitting around for a month and I just can’t bring myself to review it yet. :/

      I had a very positive interview and I’m waiting for a callback, and while it might sound weird I’ll definitely be able to post more often when I get a job. Staying home all day without a job just makes me feel so much worse about myself.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. thepetitecollegiate March 30, 2016 at 5:59 pm Reply

    Hugs! I know it can get hard sometimes. Stay positive dear ❤ You're helping a lot of people through your blog. But it's okay to back away and take a break if you need to. Just know that we'll all miss you, so don't make it too long of one! ❤

    Like

    • RollsAndCurves April 12, 2016 at 2:16 am Reply

      Thank you so much. You’re the sweetest person.

      I feel so guilty because there’s something I was supposed to review for spring, and we’re almost a month into spring and I still haven’t done the review. I just feel horrible when I don’t have a job and I hate reviewing free product all the time, but unfortunately I can’t afford to buy new pieces at the moment.

      Like

  3. Keighley April 1, 2016 at 10:46 am Reply

    I know exactly what you mean re: lingerie blogging when you’re not feeling so hot self-esteem wise. I manage to post twice a month at best because my grad program is sucking a lot of energy out of me, and it feels like that’s gotten worse lately – I’ve been taking a break from a lot of things online for this reason. Friends of mine tell me it’s common to feel more down than usual around the one-year mark, but I hope it gets better soon. I really want to do enough work to graduate before they stop paying me!

    It makes me feel better to know that others have trouble with posting regularly too, and I have similar problems with seeing the photos my partner takes of me for the blog. I’m still coming to terms with the fact that my body doesn’t look the way it did when I was in high school and that’s OK. It’s hard for me to remember that when I’m looking at an unoptimised, very clinical (in order to show bra fit) photo of myself in my underwear.

    I’m short on money as well, but thankfully have a backlog of stuff I bought previously to work through and review. One of the advantages of blogging so slowly I guess!

    As always, I look forward to reading your posts when you get around to writing them.

    Like

    • RollsAndCurves April 12, 2016 at 2:24 am Reply

      Thank you so much for your kind words and understanding.

      I felt like it was important to show where I am mentally, as well as how I’m feeling about blogging. I’m not trying to put anyone down, but I feel like some lingerie bloggers make it seem like everything is sunshine and rainbows all the time. While I love their content, I can’t relate to them as much as I can relate to people that do discuss their mental health and how their self esteem fluctuates.

      I haven’t even been blogging for a year yet, but the end of 2015 and the first few months of 2016 are completely kicking my ass. My back problems and other health issues just got bad and caused me to lose my job just a couple months into blogging. My decent camera also broke, leaving me with a crappy one. It’s just horrible timing, but I know that if I stop blogging completely until I get back on my feet, I’ll have an even harder time going back to it once things are better.

      Like

Leave a Reply

