Elomi Rita Review (38JJ)

While I have worked with Elomi in the past, this bra was purchased with my own money. This review is not sponsored by any retailers or companies. I just wanted to spread the word about the most underrated bra in my collection. I truly do love this bra, but unfortunately it tends to get passed over. In this review, the top photo is showing the J-hook unclipped, and the bottom one is showing it clipped.The red marks are from trying on numerous bras in the span of an hour, and being photographed with flash. Any comments about my armpit hair will not be approved.

elomi-rita-multiway-bra.jpg

Today I’m reviewing the Elomi Rita in a 38JJ. Keep in mind that I wear between a 36KK and 36L at this point in time, so the fit of this isn’t as good as it initially was. This fact does not stop me from wearing it. I purchased this bra in a Breakout Bras Grab Bag, and honestly out of the other 3 bras I received I was the most excited about this one. The Goddess Keira is one of my favorite bras in terms of comfort, and I’ve affectionately named it “Old Faithful” because it’s been supporting me for about a year and a half and was the first bra I had that fit me. I wear the Elomi Rita more than the Goddess Keira because of a very special feature that not a lot of bras have.

The Rita is constructed with four parts, one of the parts being a side support panel. The bottom two sections share a vertical seam, and the top section is connected perpendicularly with a slight curve. The Goddess Keira and Elomi Caitlyn are said to be very similar, but I personally believe the Rita is closer in construction and fit than the Caitlyn is. The only big difference between the Rita and Keira is the fact that the top section of the Rita is scalloped rather than being split into two straight sections. Another notable difference is that the fabric used in the Rita is much softer and smoother and feels higher in quality.

100_0242

100_0251

My favorite thing about Elomi is that the majority of their bras are made to be genuinely comfortable. The materials they use are soft and high quality, and are able to withstand a lot of abuse. It’s not recommended, but I find that my Elomi and Goddess bras can make it through a trip in the washing machine if needed without experiencing any ill effects. I wouldn’t trust any of my other bras to live through the journey. The wires they use are notoriously wide, and while being very soft compared to brands like Panache they manage to give unparalleled amounts of support. Elomi really took time designing the Rita and like models, and I don’t think I’ve seen a cup shape like this in any other full bust brands.

I know that the Elomi Rita looks slightly utilitarian compared to other bras out there, but I’m not the type of person that gets too hung up about the appearance of a bra. The color of the fabric is super saturated and bright, and looks really nice against my fair skin. The color you see in promotional images is the exact color you will see when you own the bra yourself. I’m trying to get ahold of this in the pink colorway because it’s the brightest pink I’ve ever seen in a bra, and pink is my favorite color. The shape and comfort I get from this bra is more important to me than anything else.

100_0243

 

100_0252

I’ll break the fit up into sections for simplicity because I have the tendency to ramble about bras that I feel strongly about.
100_0250.JPG

Cup: Due to the stretchy top section, the cup conforms to my breast shape without gaping or quadding. I don’t have one complaint about the cups. They’re just perfect for my wide set, splayed, pendulous, full on top, and short rooted breasts. The way they’re constructed spreads my breast tissue out over my whole chest rather than focusing it one area. The shape I get is very natural and minimized, but it’s also really round with no hint of pointiness.

Straps: This is my favorite part. The straps are your typical Elomi strap, wide in diameter but not particularly thick, but they have a J-hook in the back. I’m short with high set breasts and sloping shoulders, and thus most straps fail me because they don’t stay on my shoulders. The J-hook means that I can have an extremely supportive fit and keep my straps on my shoulders without having to tighten them to the max. It’s much more comfortable for me to have the weight of my breasts balanced out further along my back. I know bra straps aren’t meant to carry a lot of weight, but once you get to my size range it’s a lot of weight regardless of how supportive the rest of the bra is. It’s easier to clip this than it is to put on a bra strap holder, and I never need to find anyone to help me unclip it. This bra is great under tank tops and dresses if you don’t like your straps showing.

DSCF2205

Band: The band is your standard Elomi band. Mine stretches to 37.5 inches which is perfect for my 35-37 inch underbust. I’d recommend ordering the larger size if you’re between bands. The area under the gore is very low profile, which means I don’t get a whole lot of that annoying foldup effect underneath my breasts.  I am a chronic pain sufferer and the Elomi Rita and Goddess Keira are the only underwire bras I can wear during my flare ups because I can’t handle the way some bands compress my body. I don’t feel the slightest amount of compression because the bands are so soft and have enough stretch to not dig in.

100_0244

100_0253
Underwires: As I mentioned above, the underwires are really wide and soft. This is perfect for me because I have wide rooted breasts. I don’t feel any part of the underwires during wear. This makes me happy because the wing height is very high, and I was worried that being in this size range would mean that my underwires would be poking my armpit area. The gore isn’t a perfect tack because this is probably one cup too small in volume, but it’s not a big deal to me because I don’t feel like the wires slide around without a hard tack. Since I’ve recently experienced some tissue migration, I am getting a slight east/west look with this bra but it’s not very noticeable in my opinion and it doesn’t change the way I feel about this bra.

100_0254.JPG

100_0255.JPG

100_0256.JPG

Appearance: 8 out of 10

Fit: 9 out of 10

Comfort: 10 out of 10

Quality: 10 out of 10

Shape: 8 out of 10

Overall: 9 out of 10

For comparison’s sake, here’s some pictures of the Goddess Keira in 38M.

DSCF2189.JPGDSCF2190.JPG

DSCF2192.JPG

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Elomi Rita Review (38JJ)

  1. cynthia0101 March 30, 2016 at 10:44 am Reply

    I really like the look of most Elomi products. Even their most basic sets to me look very nice and well put together.

    Like

    • RollsAndCurves April 12, 2016 at 2:13 am Reply

      I agree completely. They make some very nice basics, but they don’t slack when it comes to their fashion prints and colors.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

