Panache Jasmine Review (36K)

This review may cause people to come after me with pitchforks because I wasn’t blown away with this bra even after trying it twice in two different colorways. It’s the Panache Jasmine, which is basically turning into everyone’s favorite bra from Panache. Please don’t attack me for disliking aspects of this bra. Everyone is different. The Jasmine is a fabulous bra when it fits right, but when it’s not a perfect fit things can go sour very quickly.

Panache_jasmine_Web.jpgThe Jasmine has a 4 section cup (one of which being a side support panel), and a top section made entirely of stretch lace. It’s supposed to give a super rounded and projected shape and it’s known to accommodate a wide variety of breast shapes due to the aforementioned stretch lace. It’s one of the most commonly recommended bras in the boobosphere. because it pretty much revitalized Panache as a brand and is very versatile when it comes to fit. It was one of their first bras to move away from wide wires and frumpy patterns. Since it’s been released in 2012, it’s become the third most popular Panache bra on Bratabase, behind the iconic Tango and the similar Andorra. In theory, the Jasmine should be the perfect bra for the majority of people that try it.

100_0222.JPG
Sadly, the very features that most people rave about are the features that make this bra “just okay” for me. The wires are too narrow, and my breasts do not stay in the underwires. They pop out and I have to readjust multiple times a day. Since the wires are so high, I do get a little bit of digging if I wear this bra for more than 3 hours. It’s not enough to make me want to take the bra off, but it’s enough to notice.  The cups are projected enough, but because my breasts aren’t as narrow as the bra wants them to be I don’t get the best shape. This is exacerbated by the fact that the stretch lace is too flimsy for my heavy breasts, and unfortunately in my size range I constantly struggle with the “oversized top section” dilemma. See my Curvy Kate reviews for more information regarding oversized top sections. Despite having that stiff bottom cup material that lifts my bust amazingly, the top provides little to no support, making my breasts pointy and jiggly like a bowl of Jell-O.

100_0223.JPG
I first tried this bra in a 36J  (Animal print) when I was that size, and I got a really rounded profile and was absolutely obsessed with the fit. I considered it my favorite, but remarked how it was hard to break in and that it caused me a lot of pain. I tried bending the underwires each time I wore it, but it just didn’t ease up. After only owning the bra for a month, and scooping and swooping all of my breast tissue into the cups, I came to terms with the fact that it was too small for me. I sold it quickly so I wouldn’t be tempted to wear it. Every time I took the 36J Jasmine off, my shoulders ached for days and I’d be left with little marks where the bra rubbed me sore.

100_0224.JPG
I ignored the Jasmine for a few months until the houndstooth print came out. Houndstooth is one of my favorite patterns, and pink is one of my favorite colors. I found it on eBay in a 36K for $20 and bought it with no hesitation. For reference I usually need between a 36KK and 36L depending on the brand and cut. Right out of the package I noticed that this bra was just as firm as the Jasmine in a 36J. I had to wear an extender the first few times I wore it because I couldn’t even hook it (for reference my underbust measures 35 inches). The straps are fully adjustable but can tend to dig into my armpits with wear because I have to have them adjusted to the tightest setting. This bra is unwearable during my period because the wires, gore, and band dig into me.

100_0225.JPG
When I first got the 36K Jasmine and tried it on I felt the same way I did about the 36J. I loved it, proclaimed it my favorite, and went out in public wearing my sexy houndstooth bra. All was well with the world until I stopped in a bathroom at a restaurant and was horrified to see that my boobs looked like torpedoes. I took it off in the stall and tried loosening the straps to see if it would help. It made the bra less pointy, but now I had a really odd shape and even less support. The bottom of my breasts felt and looked fine, but right at the apex going into the stretch lace was an absolute disaster. It looked horrible, and gave me a flattened point shape on the top section.

image2.JPG

Trying it on the first time

I feel like my biggest problem with the Jasmine is the stretch lace. It just doesn’t feel supportive to me, but it doesn’t fail me until I’ve been wearing the bra for an hour or two. This means that I measured it, tried it on, wrote my Bratabase review, and then realized after the fact that I didn’t like the fit as much as I thought. My experience with trying this bra twice and having it fail me both times caused me to adopt a blog policy that I will only review bras that I myself have worn for an extended period of time (at least 8-10 hours).
I wear this bra occasionally under shirts that are a little tighter in the bust. It seems to hide some of the pointiness if I do that. I’m considering trying the Jasmine in a 38K to see if sister sizing helps the fit, but I’m concerned about that top section of lace continuing to fail me. I have not yet tried the Envy, but seeing as how it’s coming out in a pink colorway for the SS16 season and is said to be more supportive, I might have to pick it up and see how it works for me.


I feel bad that I can’t hop on board with the Jasmine craze. It’s an amazing bra when it fits well, but unfortunately it just doesn’t work for me. In case you’re reading this and had similar problems with the Panache Jasmine, it might be better for you to try the Panache Rhapsody, Melody Fullcup, Ariza, Eliza, Tango or Andorra. Most of these bras are discontinued, which tells me that my breasts fit better into the “old Panache” construction. I had similar problems with the Floris, which is something to keep in mind while shopping. As I have not yet tried the Envy, I cannot comment on the fit.100_0292

I just want to mention that Panache is one of my favorite brands (if not my favorite), and writing a negative review of one of their products is not intended to be a criticism of the brand in general. Not every bra works out for every person, and that’s okay. All that means is that Panache has bras to fit every breast shape.

100_0221.JPG

Appearance: 9 out of 10

Fit: 5 out of 10

Comfort: 6 out of 10

Quality: 7 out of 10

Shape: 5 out of 10 after settling

Overall: 6.4 out of 10

100_0221.JPG

6 thoughts on “Panache Jasmine Review (36K)

  1. thepetitecollegiate March 15, 2016 at 8:32 pm Reply

    Actually, I think a lot of people find Jasmine pointy! Basically anyone who’s full on bottom or short rooted will get a pointy shape with it as far as I’ve seen. So it’s not just you! 🙂 ❤ I think part of your problems with the wires come from the too-small cup volume, but I don't think going up a cup will remedy the support issue with the stretch lace. The print on this is adorable though, and I'd love to try a Jasmine myself when they extend to 28 bands.

    Like

    • RollsAndCurves March 24, 2016 at 2:16 am Reply

      I don’t know why this notification never showed up. I’m so sorry for the late reply!

      I notice that this bra starts to look round on people with short roots/FoB breasts if they start to quad out of it a little bit. I feel like a reinforced top section would make it easier for even more shapes to get that round shape. I see a lot of similarities between the Jasmine and my Ewa FB bras, and the way the Ewas have that extra stretchy fabric underneath the stretch lace is genius.

      This bra definitely has its uses though. I love wearing it under tight shirts that would otherwise completely squish my boobs flat.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Painter (on Bratabase) March 15, 2016 at 11:57 pm Reply

    I find Jasmine extremely hard to break in. I read where people say it’s their favorite, and I do like the shape on me, but it’s painful to wear – the high gore and the straps both are miserable for me. I do find Envy to run a little larger than Jasmine, but the top seems more firm – you might have better luck with it.

    It’s a shame this didn’t work for you – it’s such a pretty print. Nice review.

    Like

    • RollsAndCurves March 16, 2016 at 12:33 am Reply

      I’m really on the fence about the Jasmine so I’m kind of scared to buy an Envy full price just in case. I know I have to get around to trying one but I’m waiting until I start a possible new job before ordering. I’m all about the pink Envy.

      I love houndstooth so I can’t resist when something’s in my size in houdstooth print. ❤

      Like

  3. Anna Marie May 25, 2017 at 9:51 am Reply

    Jasmine is not good on me either, probably because I am FOB too ( with size 32/34 E) . I do like Panache as a brand though and for me the Emily worked really well, while I only read negative comments about that one. Alas, it is discontinued .
    Thanks for your review and greetings from the Netherlands !

    Like

    • RollsAndCurves May 31, 2017 at 7:25 pm Reply

      I’m not FoB. I’m full on top with very short roots. I have almost zero bottom fullness.

      Like

Leave a Reply

