Bravissimo Nordic Rose Review (36L, 2X Shorts)

Today I’m reviewing the Bravissimo Nordic Rose in a 36L. I tried the Shorts in the largest size, which is a 2X. First of all, I love the color scheme of this bra. It’s a navy blue and pale pink combo that looks great and complements my skin tone perfectly. Interestingly enough, this is the first bra I’ve ever tried that looks just as good on me as it does on the fit model.

nordic rose

If you’ve been following me at all, you’ll know that I’ve been extremely frustrated with the fact that few brands make my size, which is a UK 36L. I’ve been reluctant to try Bravissimo because it’s kind of expensive for me to order from the US, and I was afraid I wouldn’t be able to resell bras in my size in case they didn’t fit me correctly. I was absolutely thrilled when Bravissimo was willing to work with me and send me two sets to review on my blog. I’m an incredibly honest person (almost too honest) and thus my opinions are 100% genuine and are not impacted by the fact that this was a gift. I was not paid to publish this review.

204_0054.JPG

Shape looks off due to scoliosis.

The Nordic Rose is made of a 4 part fullcup construction, one of the parts being a side support panel. The 2 bottom sections make use of vertical seaming, which lifts and shapes the bust amazingly. The final top section is slightly thinner than the fabric making up the rest of the bra and has a beautiful lace overlay. This contrasts other bras like the Panache Jasmine and basically everything made by Curvy Kate because that top section is actually sturdy enough to support a large bust without contorting it to a weird shape or leaving it to jiggle unsupported. The cup fabric is made of that thick laminated fabric that I loved in the Curvy Kate Gia, and I think more full bust brands should make use of it because I find it increases the overall support offered by a bra.

204_0010.JPG
While I love the cup construction and choice of fabric, I had some issues with the band and straps. The band is extremely tight and doesn’t stretch very far because half the band is made of the laminated fabric in the cups. I had to use an extender on the second loosest hooks to even close this bra the first time I tried it on. With wear, I’ll be able to wear this without an extender. I personally don’t mind a tight band because it offers more support and ensures that the band won’t wear out extremely fast. Keep this in mind while choosing which size you’d like to order. If you’re between sizes or hate a firm band, I’d recommend sizing up. (For reference I measure 35-37 inches around depending on the time of the month. I’m currently closer to the 37 inch range).

edited 1.jpg

The straps are comfortably wide in diameter, but they’re too long and way too widely spaced for me. I had to tighten the straps to the shortest setting and use a bra strap holder in the back to keep the straps on my shoulders. (Not worn in photos.) That being said, I don’t think the majority of women will struggle with the straps. For reference, I am barely 5’2″ and my breasts are high set. I also have sloping shoulders and a short waist. If you’re taller with lower set breasts, straighter shoulders, and a taller waist you will not have any issues with the straps. I don’t blame the bra for this fitting issue because it happens to me in every bra that isn’t made by Elomi or Goddess.

100_0110.JPG

This shape is pretty much my ideal.

I love the overall fit of the bra, and any fit issues I have are so minor that they don’t affect the support or comfort this bra gives me. I fill out the bottom of the cups and only have minimal gaping on my smaller breast due to slouching. When I stand up straight, the fabric lays flat. The side support panel forces my boobs out of my armpits and puts them on the front of my chest, drawing my boobs close together. Since this bra makes my boobs so close set, the gore doesn’t give a hard tack. I don’t feel a loss of support because the cups are strong and the band is firm. This is the first time I’ve encountered a bra in my size that was almost too close set for me. This is a welcome change from the super wide cups I’m used to. The wires are neither too wide or too narrow, and are softer than Panache’s wires while being harder than Elomi and Curvy Kate’s wires. It’s a perfect balance.

204_0026.JPG

Gaping looks worse than it is due to arm position

If I’m being perfectly honest, I wasn’t crazy about the shorts. They were too full coverage to be low rise, but too low coverage to be high rise. They sit at an awkward point on my body and slide down with wear. While attractive, the lace back wasn’t comfortable and the back seam rubbed around and crept in my crack during the day (sorry). They’re great for the bedroom, but the second I start walking around I feel them sliding. If there was a larger size I’d try it to be able to fake “high waisted” shorts. I don’t have the most curvaceous bottom, so this is probably why I struggled so much with these shorts.

100_0118.JPG
Overall, I enjoyed trying out this set. I wasn’t able to make friends with the shorts, but the bra is one of the best I’ve tried in a long time. It ticks all the boxes on my “bra checklist” because it supports my bust perfectly without being super utilitarian, and it gives me a great round shape without pushing my boobs towards my armpits. If you’ve never tried Bravissimo, it’s kind of like a hybrid between Panache and Curvy Kate. Imagine both brands combined without any of their negative attributes, and you have a Bravissimo bra. I believe this bra would be perfect for someone with average spaced breasts, average roots, and average breast height.
Appearance: 10 out of 10
Fit: 7 out of 10
Comfort: 8 out of 10
Quality: 9 out of 10
Overall: 8.5 out of 10

2016-02-15 (2).png

36L measurements

3 thoughts on “Bravissimo Nordic Rose Review (36L, 2X Shorts)

  1. Ann February 15, 2016 at 10:19 am Reply

    Thanks so much for the review! I’m a similar size so it’s nice to see someone reviewing items in the JJ+ range. I’d be all over this set if I wasn’t nursing. For the record, there are NO nursing bras in 34L or 36L except Royce and that runs small in the cups).

    Like

    • RollsAndCurves February 15, 2016 at 10:31 am Reply

      I’ve heard from some people that bras with a lot of stretch lace on top can be used as nursing bras because you can pull the lace down enough to let your nipple out. I’d recommend the Panache Jasmine in 38K as a 34L sister size. The Goddess Keira nursing bra is made up to a US N cup, which is equivalent to a UK JJ cup. You could always sister size up a couple bands. I find the Keira runs generous.

      I just checked Ewa Michalak’s website and she makes nursing bras in our size range. There’s some 36KK and 38KKs on there ready to be shipped. She’s pretty good about custom orders too. I don’t know if Ewa works for you but it’s worth a shot.They’re the sexiest nursing bras I’ve ever seen.

      http://www.ewa-michalak.pl/eng_m_NURSING-BRAS-154.html

      Like

    • RollsAndCurves February 15, 2016 at 10:31 am Reply

      Thank you for the comment by the way. šŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

